::.... Connecticut Primary Care Association ....::


Programs & Services []Aids Network[]Clinical Excellence []Community Development[]Recruitment<>

Health Disparities Collaborative

About The Northeast Cluster Collaborative

[]Health Disparities Collaborative
[]Information Systems Support

The National Health Disparities Collaborative is divided into five clusters: Northeast, Southeast, Midwest , West Central and Pacific West that includes American Samoa , and Guam Trust Territories of the Pacific Islands .

The Northeast Cluster is composed of Public Health Service Regions 1, 2 and 3 and includes Maine , New Hampshire , Vermont , Rhode Island , Massachusetts , Connecticut , New York , New Jersey , Delaware , Maryland , Pennsylvania , Virginia , West Virginia , District of Columbia , Puerto Rico , and the Virgin Islands.


During the first year of participation in a Health Disparities Collaborative (HDC), participants attend four face-to-face learning sessions over a 12- to 15-month period referred to as “Phase 1”. Community health centers learn three core models in the Health Disparities Collaborative: the Care Model, the Model for Improvement and the Learning Model.    In the current HDC 2003-04 Phase 1 cycle, there are 29 health center participants focusing on the following chronic conditions: Diabetes, Cardiovascular Disease, Depression and Cancer.    Once community health centers successfully complete Phase 1, they transition to Phase 2 where they sustain the improvements they have implemented and spread them to other providers and sites within their service system. As of October 2003, a total of 74 health centers in the Northeast Cluster have successfully transitioned to Phase 2.   The number of patients being tracked in electronic registries at the end of Phase 1 for the 74 health centers was 14,180.   Those 74 health centers are now tracking a total of 34,839 patients, an increase of almost fifty percent.

The goals of the Northeast Cluster Collaborative are to:

<> > Generate and document improved health outcomes for the underserved populations;
  > Transfer knowledge about how to promote positive breakthrough changes; and
  > Develop infrastructure, expertise, and leadership to support and drive improved health, access, and cost outcomes.

 Attainment of these goals depends upon continual learning, improvement, and change.